Division Scholarship Winners

Mon, 2016-10-03 17:08 -- laconley

Congratulations to the 2016 Feeding Tomorrow scholarship winners from IFT Divisions.

Samantha WanWees, a first-year graduate student at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, was awarded the Food Engineering Division Scholarship. “I've wanted to be an engineer since a young age, and being able to combine it with food has been a dream come true,” she says. WanWees plans to continue pursuing dairy product and process engineering and hopes to pursue a career in research and development.

Prince Boakye, an MS student at Delaware State University, received the Food Laws & Regulations Division Graduate Scholarship. “I am humbled to have been chosen from many competitive applicants to receive this award,” he says, and he believes the scholarship will help position him well for his future pursuits in the food industry and academia.

Ariel Garsow, a senior at the University of Minnesota, won the Food Microbiology Division Undergraduate Scholarship. She is pursuing a career in food safety and product development with an emphasis in food security to help developing countries create safe and sustainable food systems. “I want to be a part of helping to provide enough safe, healthy, and affordable food for a growing population in a sustainable manner,” she says. With a minor in Spanish, she says this scholarship will enable her to study abroad.

“It is a tremendous honor to be acknowledged by such an esteemed, prestigious organization, and to be a member of IFT,” says Nathalie Plundrich, a second-year PhD student in the Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences Dept. at North Carolina State University who received the Nutraceuticals & Functional Foods Division Graduate Scholarship. Her research addresses food protein allergenicity through a novel green chemistry approach.

Megan Parker received the Sensory & Consumer Science Division MS Scholarship. She is a graduate student pursuing her MS in food science with an emphasis on sensory science at North Carolina State University, and she plans to work as a sensory scientist in the food industry after graduation. “This support will allow me to work fewer hours at my second job and spend more time focusing on my research and thesis project as I prepare to defend [my thesis] this upcoming year,” she says.

Kelly Higgins, a second-year PhD student at Purdue University, was awarded the Sensory & Consumer Science Division PhD Scholarship. She is co-enrolled in the food science PhD and master of public health program, and she plans to pursue a career in government to help shape an environment with access to safe, healthy, affordable, and delicious food products. “Not only do these scholarships ease the financial burden of graduate school, but this recognition also reignites the fire to continue pursuing my PhD,” she says.

In addition, Zachary Cartwright, a PhD student at Washington State University, won a $5,000 scholarship, the highest general graduate scholarship offered by Feeding Tomorrow. After earning his degree in biochemistry from New Mexico State University, Cartwright volunteered at a local winery and decided to pursue graduate studies focusing on problem alcoholic fermentations and spoilage microorganisms of concern to winemakers. “I promise to use your generosity and give nothing less than my best as I work hard toward my future,” he says.

IFT Division scholarship applications open on December 1, 2016 and close on February 15th, 2017. Visit us at IFT.org for more information